top of page

5 Reasons Why I Graduated From Tiffin University

As a college student, there are always pros and cons about a institution. Students transfer to different colleges every semester, some even drop out of college. The thing is, college isn't for everyone, the system will challenge you mentally & physically to become a better you.

I was fortunate enough to earn a football and academic scholarship to Tiffin University, OH in 2010. Year after year, I kept itching closer and closer to transferring because I knew there were a million other better colleges in the nation. With other great colleges in the area such as Ohio State, Bowling Green, Toldeo, Kent State etc, it was difficult to remain loyal to the University at hand...But this is why I stayed.

Reason #5. DEVELOPMENT

When I first attended Tiffin University in the fall of 2010, I was more excited about being in college rather than the college itself. To the left is a photo of our football uniforms....To be honest, my high school football uniforms were 10 times better than these uniforms, but over the years this would change.

Lets fast forward to 2012, when we got brand new helmets and the whole team finally had matching jerseys. Every year was something new to look forward to. Like Deion Sanders always said "You look good, you play good".

Fast forward to the 2014 season and these uniforms are absolutely sick! A huge transformation in 4 years. Uniforms are one of many attractions that will bring those recruits in, along with new facilities, and campus expansion.

New uniforms brought a huge mindset change, along with the development of campus. Here are some examples of some before and after photos of Tiffin University. When you go from not having a lot on campus, to new buildings, dorms, libraries, and indoor facilities, It means a lot as a student athlete. Small projects like these also kept me interested at Tiffin.

Expanded library

New campus apartments

Weight room expansion

The Heminger indoor facility, which includes a large track, offices, classrooms, and indoor field.

Reason #4. SMALL SCHOOL

When I attended Tiffin University, the school had under 3,000 students, and by the time I graduated in 2014, we were over 3,200. I could not even imagine what it would be like to be in a classroom of 500 students. My classes usually ranged from 10-30 students at max. This is great as a student, because you have 1 on 1 connections with your professor. A professor who knows you personally, and not as a number in a room full of strangers.

Tiffin is most known for their school of business, but they also have other great programs such as sport management, and criminal justice. Another great asset was that the professor offices were mainly on campus. So if you did not understand something in class, you were able to go to their office to discuss it 1 on 1, which I took full advantage of.

Reason #3. SCHOLARSHIP OPPORTUNITY

The first reason I attended Tiffin University was because of the opportunity they gave me. Football and a academic scholarship!? You bet i will be enrolling in the next semester. Even during practice, my coach always mentioned that those who are working hard everyday on and off the field have an opportunity to earn scholarships. I witnessed walk-on athletes turn there student loan debt into scholarships. Tiffin will give you the opportunity, you just have to be willing to work for it.

Reason #2. THE ATHLETICS

My first year at Tiffin University was the second year that Tiffin entered into the GLIAC conference (Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference). I watched every sport go from being amatuer, to good, to watching our soccer team win the GLIAC conference. To even the next year as Tiffin's track team won the GLIAC conference. Tiffin has a great variety of sport programs from basketball, to volleyball, golf, wrestling, cross country etc.

One cool fact about Tiffin is that about 80% of the college were student athletes, so at the end of the day we could all relate on how tough a day of class, weights, and practice could be. Everyone in class had some sort of gift, skill, or intelligence which was pretty cool.

Reason #1. "WE THE PEOPLE"

This is the absolute top reason why I stayed at Tiffin University. "WE THE PEOPLE". I can not stress enough how much the people at Tiffin University influenced my decision on staying at this college. I love that there were people from all over the world from England, Australia, Germany , Africa, Alaska, China, and every state in the United States. It was cool to see all different kinds of demographics and sense of style all in one small town. Along the way, I met some great people from Cincinnati, Detroit, Jacksonville, Toledo, California, New York, Indiana, New Orleans and the list goes on and on.

When I was in high school, I always heard that your friends from college would be the people that you still talk to for the rest of your life, and this was true. Here I am from Pittsburgh, PA living with a house full of people from Ohio, and one from Jacksonville, and I swear these were the coolest dudes I ever met. My roommates, my neighbors, the professors, the coaches, and even down to the custodial staff, everyone at Tiffin was different, yet friendly and outgoing.

Follow Us
Like? Share! Follow! 
Featured Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page